top of page

An introduction to KP Astrology

Updated: Jan 6, 2021

The SUB theory of K.P. Astrology (Krishnamurtipaddhati or Advanced Stellar Astrology) and it's rationale

The zodiac of 360 degrees is divided into 12 equal parts known as the rasis or signs. However, apart from this, there is another finer division - that of the nakshatras or constellations. The entire zodiac is divided into 27 zones known as the constellations or nakshatras, beginning with Ashwini (Aries 0 degrees) and ending with Revati (ending at Pisces 30 degrees).

All planets moving through the zodiac from the point of Aries (Vernal Equinox), get their results modified as they move along. When a planet moves in the first nakshatra which is Ashwini, the transiting planet will be influenced by the lord of Ashwini, namely Ketu. So all along, every planet moving in the zodiac is influenced by the lord of the constellation in which it is transiting. Because each planet governs three constellations in the zodiac, it influences every other planet that moves through the respective constellations in three zones.

To explain this more clearly and in the words of the great Guruji, Shri K.S. Krishnamurtiji, the following lines are reproduced from the 3rd Reader (Prof. KSK):

" If a planet were to be in Ashwini, another in Magha and a third in Moola, all are under the influence of Ketu and are in Ketu's zone. If the astrologer says that a planet is modified by the lord of the constellation, Ketu, then the statement is not complete and clear. He has to add, whether it is in Aries, or Leo, or Sagittarius, as otherwise one cannot locate the position of the planet correctly."

These constellations modify the results of the planets transitting in the zodiac. We should understand here that, the lord of the constellation is responsible for modifying the results of the transitting planets, and not the stars themselves. The stars are millions of light years away, but the planets are our immediate neighbours. Hence one planet modifies the results of other planets depending on the constellations it owns.

Again, to make things clear, a good analogy is given from the 3rd Reader:

Suppose there is a light in the center of a circular room, provided with 12 glass panes of different colours and around the room is a verandah and outside the verandah, there are 27 glass panes which belong to 9 different colors (3 panes of each color). Now, if a person walks outside the circular verandah looking at the light inside, he will find the color of the light getting modified according to the color of colored glass panes. Similarly, the results of the planets are modified by the lord of the sign and indicated by the lord of the nakshatra. If a planet is compared to the light, then the influence of the sign occupied by it and the influence of the constellations change the color of light.

Professor K.S.Krishnamurtiji found in his researches that one should not stop at the level of the constellations alone. But one has to further subdivide each constellation (of 13 degrees 20 minutes) into 9 sub divisions. Each of these sub divisions is known as the SUB and is the central dogma of K.P.Astrology. This minute sub division is necessary if one needs to explain the differences between twin births. The lagna can move in a sign for about 2 hours, but in a constellation (of 13 degrees 20 minutes) it moves in about 50 to 58 minutes. But in a SUB it moves much faster and covers the sub is a few minutes. Thus to predict the happening of events accurately and correct to the minute, one has to use the SUB division of the constellation.

The 27 stars are therefore, sub divided into 9 SUBs each giving a total of 243 SUB divisions. However, there are 6 SUB divisions where only the Sign changes but the nakshatra and SUB remains the same. Thus we get a total of 249 SUB divisions, which are central to Krishnamurtipaddhati. Once each constellation is sub divided, it should be noted that the sub divisions are NOT uniform. They vary and the rationale for the variance is the time period ruled by the particular planet in the vimshottari dasha system. Thus, Ketu who governs 7 years in the 120 year vimshottari dasha system rules for 0 degrees, 46 minutes and 40 seconds in any nakshatra. Therefore, each planet rules a sub division in proportion to the period it rules in the vimshottari dasha system.

This argument seems to make the most sense, because even if we examine the vimshottari dasha system closely, we actually see that, there are, not only mahadashas, but more minute sub divisions extending all the way to sookshma dashas. All these are determined by the position of the moon with respect to the nakshatra it occupies. What the great professor did was extend this logic to all planets, thus inventing a system complete with logic, reasoning and ancient wisdom.

246 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page